Ol’ Miss Brenna Had A Farm

Well technically…I’m just living here.

dav

And yes it would take an apocalypse to getting me writing my blog again. Because dear readers–friends, family, and anyone who happens to still be getting notifications from this thing–I have returned to recount the adventures as caused by COVID-19 with the assistance of one Antonio Venegas.

IMG_3410

Antonio and I spent the first few week of quarantine the same way as everyone: stressed, bored, and hiking.

IMG_8692

I’m very lucky to have one of the most beautiful places in the country  in my backyard. 

But alas, the Mt. Tamalpais watershed could only provide so much entertainment, and only so much fish (it was actually no fish, to Antonio’s frustration)

And so a week or so into the shelter at place, Antonio decides to go visit his friend who’s been living on a farm up in Mendocino country (about 2 hours from my apartment), leaving me to wallow in self-pity and literally make myself go cross-eyed with all the ZOOM chatting. And he comes back raving about this place

“Oh my god, Brenna. They’re set up is so legit and they have the most beautiful view, and they have a whole property with all the hook-ups” (by that he means solar power and a well) Antonio is what one may call a “prepper” so his idea of a perfect living situation would be a well stocked-underground bunker.

Alright, I’m hyperbolizing a little bit. 

And he was so excited that he had gone so far as to meet the owner of the company and get permission to LIVE THERE.

Then when I learned that school would be happening remotely (i.e. as youtube videos, in my case) for the rest of the year, it was only a short jump to “you should come up and live up on the farm with me”

So here I am. 

dav

But that first day I was driving up and Antonio met me at the base of a dirt road. And drove me up to the top of a mountain. Where I was welcomed in by the glorious sight of…trailers. And more trailers. 

IMG_9661

Not exactly the “south of France” beautiful set up I had envisioned in my mind (admittedly wishful thinking). But it was greatly improved as you can see by the addition of a nice picnic bench and several hammocks.

I will always be a firm believer that hammocks make everything better. 

And you cannot deny that they are a viable source for great photo ops (in addition to relaxation and naps)

dav

Isn’t she just the sweetest, cutest dog in the whole wide world?? Alright. I refuse to be one of those people who calls their dog their “fur baby”. Though on several occasions Antonio have found ourselves both baby-talking to Stella, and then lookin up at eachother we’re like “oh god, we’ve become those dog owners”

But in case you were wondering, Stella is insanely happy up here. She has 3 other dogs to play with. So now she is part of a pack, and goes to sleep totally exhausted at the end of the day.

As do I, because–and get ready to be frickin’ proud–I am now a capable screw-gun operator:

IMG_3432

A skill saw operator (see a few photos ago). A fire-hose user:

IMG_9623

Dirt raker:

IMG_9642

Antonio does the heavy lifting…

IMG_9635

And now we (plus Antonio’s friend Rob, and the couple that’s been living/working here for years) are proud parents to like 300 baby plants!

IMG_3498

Yes, that is some sweet Mary Jane. And before you go getting worried on my behalf don’t forget I live in the lovely state of California where this whole business is clean and good! All our plants are gonna be used as the medicine they are supposed to be (I hope). And I get the pleasure of learning how to grow!

I can build planter boxes, I can move dirt, run irrigation, and frame greenhouses. The initial disappointment has transformed into great excitement. As I remember that I am lucky enough to spend each day outside, working, and getting hella tan.

And you can’t beat this view:

dav

So as I drove down from Mendocino to Marin last week to get some errands done, I found myself wishing that that this quarantine wouldn’t ever end. Because I’m loving the lack of traffic in Marin, but I’m also loving my little hide-away, quasi-camping, back to nature experience. And I’m not really wanting it to be over.

Luckily I have the whole summer to roam.

And next time I write I will regale on the huge project that is our “home”-remodel.

But for now, I will wish everyone who stumbles upon this blog a peaceful respite from the quarantine chaos, and say ta-ta it’s hammock time.

FB_IMG_1588391741468_Original

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Ol’ Miss Brenna Had A Farm

Leave a comment